Shortcuts
LiberoBanner . Default .
PageMenu- Main Menu-

Clermont Historical Centre

The Clermont Historical Centre has a very special attraction a working Aveling & Porter Traction Steam Engine No. #6803. This traction steam engine is unique as it has the status of a "local hero". It helped rebuild Clermont on higher ground after the town was almost destroyed in the 1916 Flood. Visit the Clermont Historical Centre to learn more about its role in rebuilding Clermont and how it was transformed from a rusting, broken relic to a museum centrepiece.

Clermont, known as "The Town That Moved" is over 150 years old. Visitors to the Clermont Historical Centre can immerse themselves in the rich, diverse and captivating history. Learn how Clermont was born through discovery of gold and the gold rush that followed. Did you know that the 1891 Shearer's Strike started in Clermont and thousands of striking shearers camped on the outskirts of town before moving out west to Barcaldine? Reflect on the 1916 Flood that swept through the old Clermont township and claimed 65 lives. Why is there a lone smelter chimney just south of town?

Displayed throughout the grounds of the Clermont Historical Centre is machinery reflecting the ingenuity of people on the land, like a small boat made from a discarded fuel tanker of a long-mission war plane that flew in World War Two. A diesel-powered Jacques Shovel that was used at the Blair Athol mine until 1975 will command your attention. Take time out to learn about the fate of the Blair Athol township. Stand in the old Glenmore shearing shed, close your eyes and imagine what it was like when shearing was underway. Wander through the original Clermont Masonic Lodge building and have a look the eclectic collection of pharmaceutical items, old radios and sewing machines, glass bottles displayed in groups of colour, pianos and pianolas, and more. You can't miss the room dedicated to "The Rose of Clermont" - Rose Harris, local saddler, violinist, accomplished show rider and heroine of the 1916 Flood. The Lodge building also survived the 1916 Flood.

Every year, the Clermont Historical Centre has a themed exhibition dedicated to a part of local history. The current exhibition is "Reflections of Resilience". It chronicles the colourful past of the Clermont Hospital and delves into medical tales of resilience from the Clermont and Blair Athol districts. "Reflections of Resilience" will run until December 2020.

The Clermont Historical Centre is situated on the Gregory Highway, just look for the huge red bucket in the carpark. It is open Wednesday to Saturday from 9am to 3pm. The Clermont Historical Centre also incorporates a Visitor Information Centre.

 

 

Historic Nebo Museum

The Nebo Museum was originally located in the old Nebo Police Station/Courthouse on Water Street and was run by a dedicated museum committee and friends of the museum. It was officially opened by Police inspector D R Daniels March 15, 1983. The police station/courthouse and jail were moved to its current site in Reynolds Street, Nebo in 1995 along with the Burrenbring slab huts donated by Mrs Ethel Carmody. The Nebo Shire Council Depot was originally on this site. Mr Ted Malone MLA, then Member for Mirani officially opened the Nebo Historical Museum on May 9, 1998.

The Nebo Historical Museum's collection is made up largely of locally donated pieces pertaining to the history of Nebo and the smaller towns that made up the district - Glenden, Coppabella, Mt Britton, Elphinstone and Suttor. The Nebo Historical Museum holds two Art collections, including The Mount Britton Collection painted by Ron and Jennifer Marshall. This collection was officially opened on May 29, 2004 and permanently hangs in the historic courthouse. The second collection is a collection of pen sketches of local identities, local historic buildings and landmarks of Nebo. Artist, Vera Tredwell was commissioned on a voluntary basis to draw these sketches to be included in the Slab Hut Cookbook. The Museum committee were so impressed with the outcome that a grant was sourced to frame and preserve them. The Slab Hut Cookbook launch was conducted on June 22, 2002. The collection now hangs in the Main Display Building. The museum also houses part of the Henry Mills Photographic Collection of photos of Mount Britton taken in the late 1800's during the gold rush days.

Other attractions of the Nebo Museum include a lifesize bronze statue of Drover Alan Burgess (Snow) and Snow's Wagon dated 1902, forge and bellows from Mt Spencer Station, a fire truck originally from Mackay and a Ford Truck and a Fordson Tractor owned by the Bruce Bros. of Nebo.

The Museum along with BMA is also proud to display the Megafauna Casts from South Walker mine. Megafauna is the fossils of creatures that roamed Australia more than 50 000 years ago.